A pile of new books, 2017 edition

A stack of nine books received for Christmas 2016.

My personal library did well this holiday season, thanks in large part to my husband buying up half my Amazon wish list.  I also just received my much-anticipated, limited-edition, signed copy of Miniatures: The Very Short Fiction of John Scalzi, but that didn’t make it into the Christmas-gift pile because I pre-ordered it for myself back in July.

(Side note: In unintentional preparation for reading Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I’m currently re-watching the A&E miniseries version of Pride and Prejudice, and it is delightful.)

What are you looking forward to reading next?

11 thoughts on “A pile of new books, 2017 edition

  1. Oh, the Graveyard book is so good. Wish I had known you wanted that; I could have mailed you one for free. I get a lot of free books at the end of the school year as long as I’m willing to read what the kids read in their English classes. We actually revamped our curriculum recently to represent more diverse voices, so there’s a fabulous assortment now.

    I bought my husband the Minnesota Weather Almanac (written by a popular local weatherman), and I’m hoping to read that when he’s done. I’m working through some books slowly right now (all non-fiction, which take me awhile unless it’s summer) but still looking for my next light fiction book. Hoping to get the third Miss Peregrine book from the library so I can finish that series.

    Liked by 1 person

      • If you want to pay for shipping, I can totally mail you a box at the end of the year. I already do that for another one of my ‘net friends (tho she’s now an IRL friend too) who is an English teacher. Boarding school, and you wouldn’t believe how many books they give away at the end of the year. I’m having a baby late April but am hoping to be recovered enough by late May (move-out) to pick through stuff. Try to remind me, and I’ll send pics of the options.

        This is also my source of hangers, blankets, and those sterilite drawer bin things. Haven’t paid for any of those in years.

        Like

      • thanks and same to you! I cleaned up some of the dorm tonight and found a pile of donated books. Email address? I will email you pics, and you can let me know if you want any. I guess we never finished cleaning at the end of last year :-p found some donation piles too that I need to sort and get to the thrift store.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Leisure reading!? What a wonderful concept! I’m a Course Assistant for a class on the 18th-century European novel this term, and am looking forward to reading the books on its list, none of which I’ve read. We’re starting with Moll Flanders. Right there with you with respect to A&E’s Pride & Prejudice series. Enjoy your books!

    Liked by 1 person

Reply to this post:

