An honest chat between parents

My husband and I often touch base on chat when we first arrive at our workstations.  Here’s how that went this morning, when I got to campus after dropping Little Boy off at daycare:

Me:  At school.  Grumpy boy this morning.

Husband:  No kidding.

Me:  He was OK playing with stuff while I signed him in, but got very sad when I handed him to [Teacher A] outside.

Husband:  I don’t know what’s up with him lately.

Me:  Me neither.

Husband:  Well, daycare’s problem for a while.

Me:  Yes, thank goodness.

Husband: #realparents

Me:  “And Mom and Dad can hardly wait for school to start again!”*

Husband:  Heck yes.

Me:  I think it used to be more culturally acceptable to say that.  Now we have to go through this act of how much we miss our kids when they start school.**

Husband:  Bleh. 

Husband:  I’m going to channel Red Forman.

Me:  LOL
 

*For those who don’t immediately recognize it, this is a line from the carol “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas.”

**To be fair, I did miss Little Boy when he started daycare.  But that was one of the best things that’s ever happened for our mother-son relationship.

2 thoughts on “An honest chat between parents

  1. Pingback: Of toddlers and tantrums | crazy grad mama

  2. Yup! I will fully admit to anyone who asks that daycare makes me a better, more patient, more engaged mother. I just had my kid for two full weeks (our spring break, and we were away from home most of it for various reasons). It was exhausting! Not just traveling — we stayed with my parents for a week. Just being with her all day, even though she is fabulous and fun. My little one is 20 months. Tonight, we spent a solid 5 minutes making silly faces at each other and giggling. But the hands-on, always there is so much.

    Plus, I love my job.

    A long comment to say “me too!”

    PS thanks for the teething advice 🙂 We’re on month two of cutting molars. Hope it finishes up soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Reply to this post:

