I answer some more questions about myself

I’ve been tagged in for another round of Liebster Award question-answering by the eponymous Jan from The Life of Jan.  I’m not going to do the full thing of tagging in other people, but I like Jan’s questions, and I’d enjoy hearing from you, dear readers, what your answers to these questions would be.

1.  Who would you say has been your greatest writing influence in terms of your own writing style?

My writing style is very… absorbent? assimilative?  I have a tendency to pick up bits of style and tone from whoever I’m reading at the moment.

2.  Aside from blogging, what are some of your other hobbies?

Coding, knitting, running, reading, doing crossword puzzles, skiing (when I can).

3. What are three books that you have read more than three times?

That’s easy: the first three Harry Potter books.

4. What is your favorite genre of music? Does the music you listen to affect your writing in any way?

To the second question: no, I don’t think so.  To the first: country, as long as it’s not too redneck.

5.  Do you find writing by hand more preferable, or typing on the keyboard?

Both.  When I’m writing a “product,” like a grant proposal or a research paper or a blog post, it happens on the keyboard.  But if it requires significant revisions, it usually get printed out and written all over by hand.  Brainstorming works better that way, too.  I also keep a physical research notebook rather than using Evernote or anything like that.

6.  Do you consider yourself a full-time writer, or a part-time writer?

Ha, I don’t consider myself a “writer” at all.  Grad school involves writing, though, and I’ve chosen to write for my blog on a semi-regular basis, so I guess that qualifies in one sense.  Part-time, then.

7.  What time of day is most productive for you in terms of finding time to write?

Little Boy’s nap time!  (Which presently runs from 12:30–3 p.m., for the curious.)

8.  If you were to start writing a book right now, what would it be about?

Post-apocalyptic fiction.

9.  What is your favorite topic to write about?

It’s not really a topic as much as a category, but—things that make me mad that I can’t complain about in real life.

10.  What advice would you give to other aspiring writers?

In the immortal words of Chandler Bing, “I’m not great at the advice.  Can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?”

4 thoughts on “I answer some more questions about myself

  1. I absolutely love your answers! I’ve also read the Harry Potter books (all of them) several times each. Love love love! And I may, or may not, have started writing a post-apocalyptic novel about androids a little while ago for National Novel Writing Month! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • 😀

      I love all the Harry Potter books, of course, but I think I’ve only read the last one twice. The first three came out when I was in middle school and I must have read them a good 20 times while waiting for the fourth one to come out.

      Like

      • Ahh, I was in the 3rd grade when the first came out, so I didn’t get to read it until the 6th grade. 🙂 I’ve probably seen the movies a good 10 times a piece lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: One year: blogging and finding myself | crazy grad mama

Reply to this post:

