Things I would have preferred not to learn this weekend

Learning new things is fun and all, but there is some stuff I would have been much happier never knowing:

  • Our camp mattress fits in the downstairs bathroom.
  • Dehydration can cause your arms and legs to go tingly and numb.
  • The local urgent care center is equipped to give IVs.  (They also have an X-ray machine.)
  • Zofran dissolves under your tongue.
  • My husband’s new health insurance has surprisingly good prescription coverage. [OK, maybe that one is actually good to know in the long run.]

Food poisoning sucks, y’all.

4 thoughts on “Things I would have preferred not to learn this weekend

  1. And being sick with a small child sucks, too. I remember my eldest getting sick at about 10 months. I caught what they had, and we were both miserable. It got to the point where I had no energy and couldn’t carry them from their crib, and we both had to crawl on the floor to get to the living room to cuddle in and sleep. My husband found us there, a few hours later.

    Like

    • Oh my gosh, I don’t know what we would’ve done if Little Boy had been sick too. We’d probably have had to stumble to the emergency room at that point—my average-sized adult husband needed two bags of IV fluid after a day, and babies dehydrate more quickly. As it was, we barely managed to keep Little Boy clean, fed, and not screaming. Eventually we had to give up and beg a friend to babysit while we went to urgent care.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Lessons from a year of breastfeeding | crazy grad mama

Leave a comment:

