Why I donate to Planned Parenthood

It’s pretty simple, really: I planned my parenthood, and I believe others have the right to do the same.

No, that’s not a euphemism for anything.  My sole pregnancy was very much wanted and blessedly healthy.  It was also extremely planned.

There were a number of factors that went into my ability to decide when to become a mom, both in terms of avoiding it at the wrong time and seeking it out at the right time:

• When I was an adolescent, I received comprehensive, factual sex ed.

• As an adult, I went to the doctor for annual gynecological exams and breast cancer screenings.

• When I wasn’t ready to have a baby, I took birth control pills to prevent pregnancy.

• When the pharmacy switched to a generic version of the pill that gave me bad acne, I was prescribed an alternate option.

• When I was concerned about STDs, I got tested.

• When my husband and I were ready to have a baby, I had a full check-up, including a series of relevant blood tests: were my thyroid levels OK? had my immunity to rubella worn off?

• When I became pregnant, I found out as quickly as possible, allowing me to get early and regular prenatal care.

None of these things, for me, came from Planned Parenthood.  I’ve benefited from a lot of stuff in life, including a middle-class background, which came with decent-to-good health insurance, and the money to pay for co-pays and the multiple pregnancy tests that I took while trying to conceive.  But not everyone is so lucky.  Many women don’t have the same resources as I did.

Planned Parenthood advocates for and directly provides all of the things on my list.  They help to make reproductive health care available to all women, regardless of income, and they fight to make sure people like me don’t lose access to any of the items I’ve listed.  For that, they deserve my money.

(P.S. You can donate here.)

2 thoughts on “Why I donate to Planned Parenthood

  1. Pingback: link love | Grumpy Rumblings (of the formerly untenured)

  2. Pingback: Because it might not be OK | crazy grad mama

Leave a comment:

