The Liebster, or, Hey! A reader!

I had the very great pleasure this week of learning that someone enjoys reading my blog enough to think it’s worth a link.  A big merci beaucoup to B. D. Cavet, who gave me a shout-out for the Liebster Award.

Now before anyone gets all excited, this isn’t an AWARD award.  It’s more like a chain letter for new bloggers – the fun kind of chain letter, where you get cool postcards from around the world, not the lame kind that threatens dire consequences if you don’t forward it within exactly three minutes.  It’s a neat way to share the names of new bloggers and find some interesting reads that you might not otherwise have uncovered.  Plus, you get to put this picture in your post:

liebsteraward1

Which is a nice change from my usual picture-less situation.

By accepting the “award,” I’ve agreed to answer a handful of questions, i.e., ramble on about myself for a bit, which seems to be something I’m quite good at.

1.  If you had an entire day free of every obligation, what would you do?

If it was wintertime, and I was near some good snow-covered mountains, I would spend the whole day skiing, then snuggle on the couch with my family and drink hot chocolate.

If I were at home, I think I would have a normal-ish day, just minus all the work.  Sleep in a little but not so much that I felt groggy, wake up, go for a run in some crisp sunshine.  Enjoy a leisurely breakfast with a cup of tea.  Listen to my baby laugh.  Spend a lot of time reading and catching up on the crafty projects that I always have in the back of my mind but rarely make the time to do: filling out Little Boy’s baby book, printing photos from our vacations, maybe casting on a new sock.  I would take a luxurious nap in the late-afternoon sun, get some thoughts out of my head in a blog post, and end the day with more reading and family time.

2.  What’s an odd quirk that you think is unique to only you?

I’m not sure that there’s any one thing that’s completely unique to me; it’s the combination of all the odd little things that makes me truly an individual.  One of the small strange things about me is that I always say “knock on wood” – and try to literally knock on wood or wood-like material – when I say something is going well, so as to avoid tempting fate.  I am otherwise a highly scientific and non-superstitious person, as are my parents, so I don’t know why this habit is so engrained.

Also, I don’t like fan fiction.  I have a really hard time reading anything non-canon.

3.  Why do you blog?

I’ve talked about why I blog in several posts (like this one) and don’t want to bore folks by being repetitive, but here’s the gist.  I blog because:

  • I think in the form of blog posts.  Seriously, I’ve been writing hypothetical “posts” in my head for about two years.  Typing them up gets them out of my brain for a while.
  • I’m too chicken to post angry and/or personal things on Facebook.
  • I feel better because of it.

The next step in this whole Liebster thing is to nominate a few new bloggers (defined as those with less than 200 followers) to carry on the chain.  My nominations are:

The Mort Mommy

Unbeaten Mommy

Madi Does Motherhood

(I’m sensing a theme here… )

Your mission, should you choose to accept it (and I won’t be offended if you don’t), is as follows:

  1.  Thank your nominator (a.k.a. the lovely moi.)
  2.  Answer the questions posed by your nominator (see below).
  3.  Nominate N other bloggers who have fewer than 200 followers (where N is a number between 3 and 11, depending on how energetic you are and whose version of the rules you’ve read).
  4.  Come up with N new questions for your nominees to answer (as above, N=3-11).
  5.  Make sure your nominees get the news.

Nominees, your questions are:

  1.  If you were stranded on a deserted island and allowed to bring just one item, what would that item be?
  2.  In your opinion, what is the most beautiful thing you have ever seen?
  3.  What are your hopes for your blog over the next year?

P.S.  Google Translate says that liebste means “dearest” or “favorite” in German.

Edited to add:  My husband, who took multiple years of German in high school and college, informs me that “liebster award” is so grammatically incorrect that he doesn’t understand how it could possibly be written that way.

2 thoughts on “The Liebster, or, Hey! A reader!

  1. Hah! I tried to find the definition of “Liebster” and couldn’t find a definite explanation. I’m glad someone cleared that up.

    Like

  2. Pingback: I answer some more questions about myself | crazy grad mama

Leave a comment:

