I was an imaginative child

“This song came out when I was in middle school, which was when I was still making up my own language, so I translated it.  I’ve forgotten almost all of it but there’s one line that I still remember really clearly every time.”

“You made up your own language?”

“Yeah.  I made up a whole country.  It was an island in the Pacific… an island inhabited by humanoid aliens who came to Earth because their star was about to explode.”

Pause.

“I can still remember the whole national anthem – ”

“It had a national anthem?”

“Yes, and I can still remember it because it turned out to be the right tempo for running, so I would recite it in my head – all three verses and the chorus – while running up hills.”

One thought on “I was an imaginative child

  1. Pingback: Saying no to Pinterest-perfect parenting | crazy grad mama

Leave a comment:

